ETP Directorate

ETP Directorate

The ETP Directorate provides senior energy research leadership from each of the three Scottish regional engineering pools (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen) as well as the energy expertise at the University of St. Andrews and the University of Highlands & Islands:

The Group remit includes;
  • Development of the ETP basic, strategic and applied research agenda
  • Building/consolidation of ETP research partnerships and co-operative working
  • Coordination of regional research Pool energy research activities
  • Building ETP energy research reputation, capacity and capabilities
  • Outreach and co-operation with other Research Pools
  • Positioning the ETP alongside all relevant funding opportunities and identification of common R&D opportunities 
  • Support the coordination of ETP engagement with external organisations


  • Professor Sir Jim McDonald (Chair) - University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Robin Wallace - University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Paul Mitchell - University of Aberdeen
  • Professor John Irvine - University of St. Andrews
  • Professor Paul Younger - University of Glasgow
  • Stephen-Mark Williams - ETP Executive Director
  • Professor Paul McKenna - University of Strathclyde