ETP Theme Groups

Theme Groups

ETP has 11 core theme focus areas; energy, people & society; heat energy; wind energy; marine energy; solar energy; bio-energy; grid & power networks; energy conversion & storage; energy utilisation in buildings; oil & gas and carbon capture & storage. Each theme has it's own group to build upon and formalise the process of collaboration between ETP members.

Group remit is to;
  • Support the Theme Coordinator  in the development of the technology theme
  • Highlight new collaboration and funding opportunities to the rest of the group, both at meetings and on an ongoing basis

ETP Theme Coordinators

ETP Theme Coordinators are leading academics in their theme area who:


  • Provide coordination to further develop and maximise the impact of the technology theme area
  • Identify appropriate theme group members from across ETP universities and chair regular (~6 monthly) meetings
  • Promote knowledge exchange and collaboration across the theme group
  • Highlight potential funding opportunities to the theme group where collaboration might be beneficial
Theme Coordinators
  • Wind Energy - Prof Bill Leithead, University of Strathclyde
  • Marine Energy - Henry Jeffrey, University of Edinburgh
  • Bioenergy - Prof Ian Watson, University of Glasgow
  • Solar PV - Prof Neil Robertson, University of Edinburgh
  • Energy Utilisation in Buildings - Prof Edward Owens, Heriot-Watt University
  • Carbon Capture and Storage - Dr Matthieu Lucquiaud, University of Edinburgh
  • Power Networks & System Technologies - Prof Graeme Burt, University of Strathclyde
  • Energy Conversion and Storage - Prof Graeme Cooke, University of Glasgow
  • Energy, Policy, People & Society - Prof Karen Turner, University of Strathclyde
  • Heat Energy - Prof Zhibin Yu, University of Glasgow



Use module action menu to edit content