ETP Annual Conference 10th October 2017

ETP is hosting its 6th Annual Conference on Tuesday 10th October 2017 at the John McIntyre Conference Centre at the University of Edinburgh.

This year, the conference is centred around ETP’s PhD Students, their academic supervisors and sponsoring companies as well as all members of ETP universities. It will be an informative and interactive day where keynote speakers provided the context for a variety of presentations and interactive sessions; an opportunity to network with other energy students, and for students to take part in a poster competition.

Again like last year, the day features breakout Theme Sessions hosted by the ETP Theme Coordinators and ETP Business Development Managers. These sessions provided an opportunity to engage with other academics and students working in the theme, each session becoming a mini-conference spotlighting the current thrust of research in the Scotland.

Confirmed Speakers

Professor Sir Jim McDonald, Chair of ETP

Professor Sheila Rowan MBE, Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland

Dr Steve Wyatt, Research & Disruptive Innovation Director, ORE Catapult

Professor Gareth Harrison, Director of Research, University of Edinburgh

Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Assistant Deputy Principal (R&I), Heriot-Watt University

Conference Information

  • Venue & Travel
  • Prog Tue 10th Oct
  • Theme Sessions
  • PhD Students
  • ETP PECRE ECR/Students
  • Industry
  • Delegate List
  • Conference Booklet
  • Speakers
  • Abstracts
  • Presentations

Registration Closed

Registration for this event has now closed.

More information

Supported by


Student Posters

Merlinda Andoni - Heriot-Watt University
Sina Babadi - Glasgow Caledonian University
Tommaso Bizzotto - University of Dundee
Jamie Blanche  - Heriot Watt University
Declan Bryans - University of Strathclyde - 3rd Prize
Ian Campbell - University of the Highlands & Islands
Maryam Derkani  - University of Strathclyde
Fulin  Fan - University of Strathclyde
Anna Garcia-Teruel - University of Edinburgh
Cosma Gottardi - University of Glasgow - 2nd Prize
Christopher Hynard - University of Dundee
Sofia Koukoura - University of Strathclyde
Sahar Mirzaie - Heriot-Watt University
Julien Mouli-Castillo - University of Edinburgh
Gylen Odling - University of Edinburgh
Maja Persson - University of Edinburgh
Thomas Spitz - University of Edinburgh
Alistair Swan - University of Aberdeen
Despina Yiakoumi -  University of Aberdeen - 1st Prize
Andreas Ziogos - University of Dundee

Last Year's Conference