News and Events

Early career researchers scoop prizes at Scotland’s biggest energy academic conference

PhD students and early career researchers conducting research in the field of energy at universities across Scotland were awarded prizes for best presentations and academic posters at the 8th ETP Annual Conference on 14 November in Dundee.

The conference is an excellent opportunity to discover innovative energy research from the next generation of academics in Scotland and beyond. The 2019 event had 9 energy theme sessions, chaired by senior academics in their respective energy field. Over 130 delegates heard from early career researchers who presented their research, and the following were awarded a prize for best presentation:

  •  Maja Persson, University of Edinburgh for “Hydrogen for all: A Design tool for community energy systems”
  •  Magnus Jamieson, Imperial College London for “Quantification and mitigation of the impact of extreme weather on power system resilience and reliability”
  • Antoine Reguis, Edinburgh Napier University for “Connecting public buildings to low temperature heat networks”
  • Jenny Milne, University of Aberdeen for “Rural mobility as a service in Scotland"
  • Anastasia Ioannou, University of Glasgow for “Single and multi-objective (stochastic) optimisation of sustainable energy systems”
  • Mairi Dorward, University of Edinburgh for “Characterization of complex marine current flows for industrial applications: novel sensor development and testing”
  • Azin Lamei, University of Dundee for “Elastic analysis of wind-tracing multi-unit floating offshore wind turbines to waves and wind"
  • Marzia Alam, Heriot-Watt University for “Energy yield enhancement of bifacial solar photovoltaic modules”
  • Ellie Tanka, University of Edinburgh for “Co-sensitisation as a cost performance improvement strategy in dye-sensitised solar cells"
  • Benjamin Cerfortaine, University of Dundee for “Fatigue behaviour of HST95 sand for offshore renewable applications”

Skills development is at the heart of ETP, which also delivers the ETP Energy Industry Doctorate Programme. PhD students from the programme, based at ETP member universities across Scotland, are given the opportunity to raise the awareness of their research by taking part in the conference every autumn.

Prizes were also awarded to best posters in the academic poster competition; judges from ETP awarded prizes to the following early career researchers:

·         First place: Jonathan Bowes, University of Strathclyde 

·         Second Place: James Dixon, University of Strathclyde

·         Third Place: Maja Persson, University of Edinburgh




The 8th Annual ETP Conference took place on 14 November 2019 at the West Park Conference Centre in Dundee. The next ETP Annual Conference will take place on 3 November 2020 in Edinburgh.

Posted in: News