About ETP

About us

The Energy Technology Partnership (ETP) is an autonomous alliance of 14 independent Scottish HEIs run by informal agreement, providing world-class capability and resources in energy R&I, supported and co-funded by the Scottish Funding Council.

The administrative host of ETP is the University of Strathclyde. We have a strong governance structure, with representation from across its academic partners, and wider stakeholder community.

Partnerships for the future

Established in 2008, we work in strategic partnership with innovation translators, industry and government to future-proof Scotland's position as a world-class centre of research excellence and globally competitive driving force in energy, and a key actor in Scotland’s drive towards a just transition to net zero.

Our focus

ETP’s activity is focused on three areas:

  • Promotion and growth of world leading research based on Scotland’s internationally competitive research base.
  • Translation of research for impact, through knowledge exchange activity, communication, conferences, seminars, workshops, special interest groups;
  • Skills creation as driver for economic growth.

ETP Member Universities

ETP is a research alliance comprised of 14 Scottish HEIs, each with areas of outstanding research capability in the energy sector.

  • Professor Sir Jim McDonald

    • Professor Sir Jim McDonald
    • Chair of ETP
  • Professor Paul Mitchell

    • Professor Paul Mitchell
    • Deputy Chair

ETP Board Member Representatives

Name Institution
Prof Sir Jim McDonald Chair of ETP
Prof Paul Mitchell Deputy Chair ETP
Prof John Currie Edinburgh Napier University
Prof Scott McMeekin Glasgow Caledonian University
Colin Kirkpatrick Glasgow School of Art
Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer Heriot-Watt University
Prof Mamdud Hossein Robert Gordon University
Prof John Underhill University of Aberdeen
Prof Markus Mueller University of Edinburgh
Prof Gioia Falcone University of Glasgow
Prof Ben Wilson University of the Highlands & Islands
Prof Tom Brown University of St Andrews
Prof Andrew Tyler University of Stirling
Dr Nick Kelly University of Strathclyde
Prof Milan Radosavljevic University of the West of Scotland
Stephen-Mark Williams ETP Executive Director

ETP Governance

  • ETP Board in conjunction with ETP Internationalisation Subcommittee and ETP Advisory Board

  • ETP Management Team in conjunction with Executive Director's Advisory Group (EDAG) and Energy Research Advisory Forum (ERAF)

    • Executive Director

      • Project Manager

      • Project Assistant

      • Comms Assistant

  • Core Programme

    • 12 Theme Champions - Theme Groups

  • Externally Funded Programmes

    • Energy Industry Doctorate Programme (EIDP) - PhD Students

    • Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN) - 9 BDMs

Our Funding

How is ETP funded?

ETP is the Scottish academic research alliance, co-funded by the Scottish Funding Council and by its 14 partner HEIs.

SFC provide £90kpa, while the 14 partner HEIs match this with £135kpa for a total of £225kpa. This funding supports a management team of 3.2FTE: an Executive Director, a Project Manager, a Project Assistant, and a Communications Assistant.

What we fund

This core funding enables ETP to win and run programmes worth an additional £1.5Mpa. These comprise:

  • The Energy Industry Doctorate Programme (EIDP): provides the energy sector with the advanced skills it needs;
  • The Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN): connects enterprise in the energy sector with targeted academic expertise to develop new products and processes.